Introduction to EYFS

Foundation Stage Overview (Children of Reception Age)

‘Children have a right to provision which enables them to develop their personalities, talents and abilities irrespective of ethnicity, culture or religion, home language, family background, learning difficulties, disabilities or gender’. (United Nations Convention on the Rights of the Child)

In the early years phase, children are taught through topics covering the 7 early learning goals:

  •         Communication and language
  •         Physical Development
  •         Personal, social and emotional development
  •         Literacy
  •         Mathematics
  •         Understanding the world
  •         Expressive arts and design

The children have the opportunity to learn through adult led and child led activities.

Structured outdoor and indoor play is built into the timetable, along with indoor and outdoor opportunities where the children choose activities freely.